RES Workspace Manager Run Once Per Computer, Per User

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
A VPN is an essential component of IT security, whether you’re just starting a business or are already up and running. Most business interactions and transactions happen online and VPN

We all know that RES Workspace Manager stores the flag that determines if a Run Once task has completed for a given user in the \PWRMENU folder (at least by default). These files are named with the .ONCE file extension and given a (seemingly random) GUID, i.e. <SeeminglyRandomGUID>_task.once.

Unfortunately, there is no simple way of determining which .ONCE file relates to which task but that’s a post for another day! To force a task to rerun for a given user all we need to do is delete the relevant .ONCE file and the task will magically rerun. This avoids the necessity to check the “Clear History” checkbox and force it to run again for all users.

What about the Run Once Per User, Per Computer and Run Once Per Computer options? Logically they don’t live in the user’s \PWRMENU folder as they’re not a per user setting. So where do they live? After a discussion with RES Support it was discovered they live in the %RESPFDIR%\Data directory. Once you’ve determined which file relates to which task you can just delete it!

Here is an example of a Run Once Per Computer and Run Once Per Computer, Per User external tasks:

image

The 132DBDF_34930_105A_task.once file is a Per Computer external task. The 132DBDF_34981_1381_<domain>_<username>_task.once files are the Per Computer, Per User tasks for the LAB\Administrator and LAB\LOCAL01 user accounts.

Easy when you know how! Iain

siteadmin

siteadmin

Leave a Replay

Recent Posts

Sign up for our Newsletter

Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit